Teams‎ > ‎Women's Team 2016-2017‎ > ‎Weekly Wisdom‎ > ‎

Weekly Wisdom #7

posted Aug 17, 2010, 1:08 PM by Noel Hanzel   [ updated Aug 17, 2010, 1:09 PM by Quinten Hutchison ]
Hello Gobies,

This Weekly Wisdom is a continuation from last week's on fouls and violations. You now know what a foul is and when to call it. We will look at what happens after the foul is called. It's long, but take all week to read it if you need too.

When a foul is called during a play, DON'T STOP. Go after the disc, make the d, catch the score, just keep going. "I thought I heard call" is not a lame excuse when you get schooled. 

A player's ability to catch or make a play on the disc is not considered to be affected because that player stopped, slowed down, or otherwise ceased to continue playing because a call was made by another player. Players are encouraged to make every effort to continue playing until play actually stops. (XVI.K)

When a violation or infraction is called, the Continuation Rule applies. The Continuation Rule states that play stops when the thrower in possession of the disc recognizes and acknowledges a call has been made. If the call is made when the disc is in the air, the thrower is in the process of throwing or the thrower fails to acknowledge a call has been made, play continues until the outcome of the pass is determined. If a disc goes up, go after it. This is why it is important to make your calls loudly. "foul" won't stop any play, but "FOUL" should get the throwers attention.  After the disc goes up, play either stops or continues based on the guidelines below.

If the call is made by the thrower...
and the infraction occurred before the thrower was in the act of throwing...
1.If the pass is complete: play stops and the disc goes back to the thrower
2. If the pass is incomplete: play continues un-halted, players should announce "play-on," it's a turn
and the infraction occurred while in the thrower is in the act of throwing...
1. If that pass is complete: play continues un-halted, players should announce "play-on"
2. If the pass is incomplete: play stops and the disc goes back to the thrower
and the infraction occurred after the disc was thrown...
the call is considered to be made by a non-thrower.

If the call is made by a non-thrower...
and if the team that has possession called the infraction...
1. If the call was made before the thrower began the act of throwing, play stops and the possession reverts to the thrower
2. If the offense made the call after the thrower began the act of throwing, play continues un-halted, players should announce "play-on"
and if the team that has possession committed the infraction...
1. If the infraction effected the play, like someone who picked off their defender gets the disc, the disc returns to the thrower
2. If the infraction did not effect the play, like someone got picked off but the disc was thrown to someone else, play is stopped, but the play stands

This is all from section XVI of the 11th Ed. It's a good section to read.
Comments